Our Offices & Partners Abroad

For detailed information please click on the offices and cultural centres below. For further information on the headquarters in Zurich please go to: www.prohelvetia.ch

Artist

Shen Bolun | 2022 Studio Residency

Switzerland | Theatre

2022 — Theatre

Nationality: China
Residency location: TBD
Partner organization: TBD

Born in 1989 in China, Bolun studied business and economics in Canada for a short period of time and graduated from Communication University of China in 2012. After having worked in journalism and marketing industry, he started focusing on independent art projects since 2013, mainly film/video, performance, social activity, narrative, etc.  His work has been invited or presented worldwide, including Finland, Italy, the US, China, etc.

Most of his personal projects do not necessarily end up in attending exhibitions or residencies, but rather make influences to the real world. Bolun believes art is not only aesthetic or spiritual, but should also make a difference in social awareness, especially in China. He would see his work playing an important role in driving and pushing forwards both socially and individually in China.

One of the most common ways Bolun implants in his work is conversations. He has practiced various types of projects with such methods such as filming and documenting, cross-time/space video editing, theatrical interviewing, debate settings in theater, media coverage writing, social activities etc. He truly believes words, language, communication and even conflicts would create power and change. In a more divided and populistic world, thought-provoking projects which involve real communications are what we need. Apart from verbally oriented projects, Bolun would also love to make some quick and short symbolic performances that might cause some curiosity, disturbance or insecurity in the authority centralized society.

The Colosseum is an interactive theatrical project that rebuilds conversations and debates which involve voting systems, deliberation procedures and authority management. There is no script or professional actors/actresses participating, instead, an open discussion/debate/deliberation procedure is followed that everything happens on stage is improvisation and real-time interaction as all participants are average people. The storyline of the play is imaginary and fictional that Bolun and his team (He Fa and Yifan) have started a mysterious group to organize a civil Solution Conference for a future world. By far, the Conference has been held 9 times in Beijing, China, each time with the very different voting system and procedure settings from direct to deliberate democracy, from totally open discussion to topic-oriented jury consensus.

Bolun is curious about how direct democracy work in Switzerland, how political and ritual traditions mean for the Swiss, how a neutral state plays a role in Swiss daily life and how voting actually affects an ordinary people’s life. Apart from that, he would like to understand what role social media plays in Swiss netizens life and what the most heated conflicts online is like and how it got solved since internet environment is always a battlefield in China that building a calm conversation is a forever difficulty. Hopefully, there will be a theatrical conversation designed between Chinese and Swiss, no matter it’s live or online zoom version. Bolun and his team want to make more changes for the place we live and love, and theatre and performance is where we can hide from. They are seeking for new rules and new justice in an imaginary world. Switzerland, as a neutral state, will be the place to witness.

close

Search for "pro_helvetia" in the wechat app or scan the QR code.

我们的海外办公室与合作伙伴

请点击以下图标,查看瑞士文化基金会各地联络办公室及文化中心的信息。欲知苏黎世 总部的详情,请访问官网:www.prohelvetia.ch

Artist

沈博伦 | 2022年驻留艺术家

瑞士 | 戏剧

2022 — 戏剧

国籍:中国
驻留地点:待定
合作机构:待定

沈博伦于1989年出生于中国,曾短暂于加拿大读商科和经济,后于2012年毕业于中国传媒大学。他从2013年开始专注于独立艺术项目,主要以影像、行为、社会事件和叙事为表达方式。他的作品曾在中国、芬兰、意大利、美国、塞尔维亚等世界各地展出或受邀参展。

沈博伦的大部分个人项目不一定以参加展览或驻留项目,而是对现实世界产生影响。沈博伦认为艺术不仅是美学或精神层面的,还应重塑社会意识,尤其是在中国。他相信自己的工作在推动中国社会和个人生活里扮演了重要的角色。

他的作品中最常见采用的方式之一是对话。他用这样的方法实践制作了各种类型的项目,如纪录片拍摄、篡改时空的编辑、剧场对话、剧院辩论、媒体报道写作、社会事件等。他相信文字、语言、对话甚至冲突会引起变化和能量。在一个更加分裂和民粹主义盛行的世界中,真实的交流和发人深省的项目正是所需。除了以语言为核心的项目外,沈博伦还喜欢做一些快速而短暂的行为表演,试图在以权力为中心的社会引起好奇与不安。

《斗兽场》是一个互动剧场项目,试图在剧场里重建严肃对话和辩论,以此涉及投票系统、审议程序和权力构建。该项目没有剧本或专业演员参与,而是遵守公开的讨论/辩论/审议程序。所有参与者都是普通人,舞台上发生的一切都是即兴互动。沈博伦和他的主创团队(何发和一番)虚构了一个世界观,在此之内组建了一个神秘的团体,为未来世界组织解决方案会议。迄今为止,该会议已经在北京举行了 9 次,每次都采用截然不同的投票制度和程序设置,从直接民主到审议民主,从完全公开的讨论到以主题为导向的陪审团共识决定。

沈博伦很好奇直接民主在瑞士如何运作的,政治和仪式传统对瑞士人意味着什么,中立国家在瑞士人的日常生活中发挥什么样的作用,以及投票实际上如何影响了普通人的生活。除此之外,他也想了解社交媒体在瑞士网民生活中扮演了什么角色,网上最激烈的冲突是什么样的,以及最后如何解决的。互联网环境在中国一直是战场,建立和平的对话是永恒的难题。他希望能创造出一场中瑞居民之间的对话,无论是在剧场现场还是在线zoom版本。沈博伦和他的团队希望为他们生活和热爱的地方做更多行动。戏剧和表演是他们可以行动的场所,在想象的世界中寻求新的规则。瑞士作为一个中立国,将为此见证。

close

Search for "pro_helvetia" in the wechat app or scan the QR code.